A few years ago.

magnolieNow and then I stumble across an entry in one of the blogs I follow about blogging. And nearly every single one of them – at least in the ‘successful’ blogs with hundreds of readers and various sponsors – is being nostalgic, thinking back to “a few years ago” when there were only few bloggers and certainly only few able to make money with their blogging. It really makes me sad reading these posts – and feeling discouraged. I’ve been blogging for eight years now, never with a lot of readers, always as a kind of diary only really interesting for those who know me anyway. This is my first “attempt” at blogging in English, also in a try to reach more readers. Most of the blogs I’m reading are in English and I always felt that it was sad that even if I commented and left a link to my blog, they couldn’t read it anyway due to the language barrier. I’m not aiming to earn money with this blog but what I am aiming for is finding a voice for myself. A voice that can tell the world about my life, about me, about the wonderful things, the challenges, the good and the bad. A voice that helps me through writing to reconnect with my creative center. I am aiming for building a place, even though it is “only” online, where I can collect and create, where I can write and tell stories, where I can share and connect with people I don’t yet know.

Reading about a nostalgic “a few years ago” makes me sad. Is my story not worth sharing just because I didn’t start it “a few years ago”? Are my words not worth reading because they weren’t published “a few years ago”? Is my voice not worth being heard just because it’s been added to a larger community than it was “a few years ago”? Is my writing worse just because it’s been written in a time where social media¬†steal our time away from slow, conscious reading? I also realized the shift in comments and readers when I started to publish my blog posts on my FB timeline and it was for this reason I stopped doing it. But as I can see in myself: Facebook and Twitter and all the other media don’t stop me from reading blogs. From trying to connect. From trying to find my place, my voice in this multitude of blogs, of stories, of pictures and experiences.

Nothing in the ‘verse can stop me, as Kaylee says in Firefly. And so I’ll keep going. I for one feel no nostalgia for the blogging world of “a few years ago”. Lesser voices means fewer stories. And why would I want to stop reading, being inspired, writing, connecting? That’s right: I wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

